Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
3.0 update and Estimated Cost of Controller
Hello, I am new to the form and a recent transfer from another DAW (Protools). I still produce in Reason and Logic Pro X but have decided to make the full leap into HMB for all of my tracking and mixing needs because of the unmatched sound quality. My main concern/question is about the progress of MB 3.0. I am finding 32 bit very limiting at 96k and with the potential for 64 bit in 3.0 being discussed I am looking forward to the upgrade. I know that Harrison is working extremely hard on getting 3.0 ready and understand that a software update takes time to perfect as I am a Project Management for a software company but I have been hearing that 3.0 would be out as early as last year and at that time I waited before making a decision on changing DAW's to see how 3.0 would respond. This seems like an extremely long cycle for an update. Also any update on the pricing range of the new controller for mixbus. I also read a comment that screenshots would be made available for 3.0 soon have these been released and if so where can I view them.
I agree, 3.0 has taken far too long!!! But the wait is coming to an end. We still haven't set a release date, but it won't be much longer before we are confident enough to start showing screenshots, etc.

We have a prototype surface here; the price is intended to be sub-$1,000. Of course we also have our large console surfaces which could become controllers, if you want something big. Our first priority is the v3 launch, and then we are going to investigate the controllers. We have even considered a "Kickstarter" to find out which surfaces our users are most interested in.

Sorry for the delay! We are taking this slowly so that things are done "right".

-Ben