Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Mastering in Mixbus
Hi, I'm one of those DIY-Mastering people who do mixing and mastering for their own projects. Has anyone got experience with mastering in Mixbus? Is there anything I need to consider? I actually quite like the built-in Limiter soundwise, but is it true that it has a -1db ceiling?
I am no mastering engineer, but I have mixed and mastered my own sessions in mixbus and yes, it does have a -1db ceiling. that is to help protect your sound card's out put (especially if it doesn't have a high enough headroom). If you check your levels with the Ik multimedia meter, The -1db ceiling fluctuates c. 0.9 db or less, so it's not so bad and usually the rms readings are spot on (with just maybe one or two tweaks in mixbus to get levels hotter)

N.B I just use Ik multimedia just as a confirmation tool and discard the audio file after since, for some reason Windows player cannot read the file after being used by IK Multimedia. I then do another export of the audio from Mixbus.

The Metering on the master output section could be used to set your final average levels using the K-14 standard, where, 0 = -14
I use the meter as follows:

above +4 (Slammed) =c.-6db

+4 = -10db ( -9 db including the -1db ceiling).

0 = -14db

-4 = -18db

The Leveler is very transparent and may work well as your final mastering dynamic processor, along with some saturation ( careful or too much satruation will dull your mix)

I normally use the master out EQ section to tweak my overall tone.
You also have the mastering plugins package available from Harrison's website

Hope this helps.
Mixbus/Windows- VST Plugins
Thank you for the answer! I think I will definitely try the leveller on the stereo bus.
Don't you think the -1db ceiling does increase the "squashing"?
To me it feels like I'm not getting quite as much loudness without squashing as in other DAWs, but I'm still a mixbus "beginner".