Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What's under the hood?
Hey folks,

Well, despite the serious instability issues I've been experiencing, which I'm sure the people from Harrison are already taking care of, I'm starting to get Mixbus.

It really does something unusual, pleasant and very hard to describe to the sound, most specially to the spatial image of it. It's very easy to get a good mix out of it, you know, to make things "gel" together in a pleasant and coherent way.

Before trying Mixbus, I was wondering about how a mix made solely on Mixbus would actually differ from one made in any other DAW using quality analogue inspired plugins on every channel.

As an Industrial Designer, I'm well aware that the interface, the GUI, makes a huge difference in the perception of quality and usability of anything, including (and specially) software. Take the same plugin, let's say and EQ, with two different GUIs, one ugly and one beautiful, then ask people which one sounds better. I guarantee that people will tend to enjoy the sound of the beautiful one the most. That's just how we work. We're emotional beings. Our perception of things is rarely faithful to the real nature of things.

Anyway, I digress. To sum up, I used to think that Mixbus was a mix between placebo effect caused by the nice nostalgic GUI and cool but not extraordinary DSP coding. This is a very common phenomenon in the digital plugin world.

Now I realize that Mixbus does something apparently way more complex than what could actually be done on a plugin level. Maybe that's why they've decided to turn Mixbus into a standalone DAW, not a plugin suite like Slate's VCC or Waves NLS.