Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New user introduction
Hello,

My primary instrument is bass but I also play keys, guitar and drums for my demos. I've been using Reaper but never really cottoned to it. Someone on the vdrums forum who has always provided excellent advice commented that he recently switched to Mixbus and really liked how much it operates like an analog mixer. That appealed to me because my Reaper template is complicated which gets in the way of creativity.

While going through tutorials I used some tracks exported out of ProTools that we recorded at a studio. I have a mix of those tracks mastered by a pro to compare my efforts to. I did pretty a fairly good mix inside Mixbus 32C (no third party plugins).

One thing I'm wondering is if there are some third party plugins people tend to use. I'm thinking I should stick with the built in ones for now just to thoroughly get to know Mixbus and experience the "full fluidity" of how it operates.

One other observation. I have a 1080p 27" monitor. The Mixbus interface is a bit small and not as defined as I would like. I went upstairs to where we have a 4K TV connected to a PC and installed Mixbus. The graphic card is a Gigabyte 1030 GT. Wow - that looked amazing. I ordered that graphic card ($84) and a Vizio 43" 4K display ($219). I think the improved display will help streamline my recording and mixing.

Doug
To quote a great Christmas movie: "Welcome to the party, pal!"

By all means, enjoy the included plugins. I've been very impressed with them. But, also, feel free to use whatever you like. Most of them play nice with Mixbus.
Most of my third party plugs are freebies, and I've never had an issue. My faves are Voxengo, Tokyo Dawn, and I recently sprung for Waves' Tune and SSL G-Channel. All work great.
Welcome aboard.

If you are never going to go beyond just making demos, then really the stock plugins are all you will ever actually "need."