Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Behringer X-Touch and Extenders
Hi Guys,
I am new to Mixbus 32c v6 from Pro Tools.
I really like it, it feels so much more like analog board I cut my teeth on.
And it starts up SO MUCH FASTER THAN PRO TOOLS!!!! THANK YOU HARRISON AND ARDOUR!!!!
I am also a Behringer guy, and went with the X-Touch when I saw some of the videos of how to use it with Mixbus.
Then I got an extender and had a little more trouble connecting it in Mixbus, and I want to share what I found while researching how to get it to work.
1. After connecting the X-Touch to your computer, you have to reboot the computer before trying to connect it to Mixbus. This forum told me that.
2. Same goes for the Extender
3. You have to turn on the X-Touch 1st, let it boot, then the Extender! If you have them both power on at the same time, the extender may not initialize in Mixbus even if it worked previously.
4. I believe you should also have the extender connected via USB to the X-Touch, and not the computer, but this may not be necessary, but it just makes more “analog thinking” sense to me.
Finding the profiles to use was not clear, as no Extender is listed in the stock Mixbus install. As I am waiting on a second Extender to arrive, I finally (through Google search) found where the .device files are. For me, and Windows 10, they are at “C:\Program Files\Mixbus32C-6\share\ardour6\mcp”
I don’t know why a search for *.device takes so long or even fails on a fast computer with blazing raid0 SSDs, but it took the online search to find them. Thanks again Mixbus Forum.
The only thing listed with an X-Touch is “+ X-Touch Compact”, but that is a completely different piece of hardware.
But, it works with the Extender.
I took the liberty of creating some other .device files, to make it easier for the even more novice than me to add the Extender, and the correct configuration.