Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Mastering top end shine
When I was mixing a project I noticed my mixes came out dark and dull compared to commercial mixes so I added a mastering eq preset that raised the top end around 5k about 5 DB sometimes a lil higher, at times I found it hard to mix and master since I’m pretty new to mixing. I’m trying to figure out why my mixes were dull, because I have to mix more music again and I want to do things right, I pretty much had the master eq on the master track and had to adjust my tracks and it gave me good results, I guess I was thinking it’s not good to mix into a master eq but maybe there is just different ways of getting things done.

Would you recommend mixing into a high shelf master eq setting as a starting point.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
(11-04-2019, 06:16 AM)mrskytown11 Wrote: When I was mixing a project I noticed my mixes came out dark and dull compared to commercial mixes so I added a mastering eq preset that raised the top end around 5k about 5 DB sometimes a lil higher, at times I found it hard to mix and master since I’m pretty new to mixing. I’m trying to figure out why my mixes were dull, because I have to mix more music again and I want to do things right, I pretty much had the master eq on the master track and had to adjust my tracks and it gave me good results, I guess I was thinking it’s not good to mix into a master eq but maybe there is just different ways of getting things done.

Would you recommend mixing into a high shelf master eq setting as a starting point.

There certainly isn't any onesizefitsall recipe and I'd even say that no wrong recipe is necessarily always wrong.
Then, your idea of a high bulb may have some reason depending on what the initial trouble in your tracks is.