Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Which gate for drums?
Hi... new forum member here!

This seems like a wonderful forum, and well attended by Ben and other members of Harrison. I recently installed Mixbus after looking into it for some time. I'm quite new to recording and audio production, but have done a good amount of research so far. I'm excited about the journey, and using Mixbus in particular.

I have a question regarding the Harrison gates, and how they may be advantageous (or not) for my application.

I'll be recording drums in a simple manner with three mics: 1) Front of the kit, 2) snare, 3) kick. I'll be using the Drum Character plugin for the snare and kick.

I was hoping to isolate the snare and kick a bit more from the rest of the kick by means of a gate. Harrison has two plugins that are very attractive: The Tom Gate (XT-TG) and the Expander-Gate XT-EG.

I know the Tom gate is obviously tailored for toms, but can it be used to isolate the snare and/or kick in my application?

Lastly, in a setup like this with three mics, do you find that it would be even recommended to gate? Or would I be potentially creating more headaches than it's worth?

Thanks for reading!
If you only want to buy one of them, get the XT-EG. IMHO it's more versatile and you usually get enough separation by using the sidechain filter.

That said, the XT-TG does work quite nicely for some tasks. It's obviously a great tool for toms, but you can even seperate high and low on Cajons. It even did a decent job on a suitcase with two pedals mounted to it. One pedal did a snare-ish sound, the other more of a kick, but both were recorded on the same channel with a single microphone inside the suitcase.
Usually doing live sound …
First off, with just 3 mics, I wouldn’t gate. Maybe some creative eq to help “isolate” sounds. But imo it will probably sound funny gated.