Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Using GVerb+
Hello everybody,
I am a beginner in Mixing. I do classical recordings and wanted to add some reverb to my music. So I kindly ask, whether someone could explain to me the following parameters of GVerb+:
Xover High
Xover Low
Low/High-Mix

By the way: I am a little bit scared by the many parameters. What is the best or at least your way to use GVerb+? My target is to add a natural sounding reverb...

Thanks in advance for any help and hints,
Max
Hi Max85, welcome to the Forum,
This video should help you find your way.... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fs0m-wFXdZ8
If you look at the 'Cavern' preset, it replicates a big boomy space, so the X/overs are set to about 100Hz and the high low mix has a large decay time adding extra complexity.
By comparison, look at 'Great Hall' and the x/overs are set at a very low frequency and the decay mix is relatively short.
As you are doing Classical recordings, I would suggest you start with Great Hall or Cathedral (for a large orchestral group).
Do not be afraid of the controls, the best way to learn a tool is to tweek the knobs and find out for yourself what they do.
You can always recall the preset and get back to the start.
Being classical, the first parameters I would fiddle with would be Room Size and Reverb Time.

Happy mixing
Macmini 8,1 | OS X 13.6.3 | 3 GHz i5 32G | Scarlett 18i20 | Mixbus 10 | PT_2024.3.1 .....  Macmini 9,1 | OS X 14.4.1 | M1 2020 | Mixbus 10 | Resolve 18.6.5
Thank you very much for your answer. The video I still have seen. Unfortunately the options with the dark-grey background are not explained there. To my mind, the color of the reverb is mostly created there.