Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Curious About MIDI?
Hey everybody,

Please pardon my ignorance, but I keep hearing about how much better other DAWs are at MIDI than MixBus. Here's my question: What kind of MIDI editing are people doing that requires such "advanced" editing tools?

This is my MIDI background and experience: I learned about MIDI from Roland/Kurzweil manuals when I was a freshman in high school in 1988. My first sequencer was a Roland MC-500 and the subsequent MC-500 MKII, both of which I used for years and years, and still have to this day. I'd program drums beats on the rhythm track, and I'd record all the MIDI parts from my keyboard and play them back into a sound module. The only editing I ever did was cut, copy, paste, delete, quantization, velocity editing, CC Volume, Pan, Sustain, and Program changes and maybe occasional transposing and very minor step editing to correct one or two bad notes. I could operate the MC-500 blindfolded and I still have the muscle memory of the keystrokes on it. Beyond that basic editing, I've never had to edit MIDI extensively. I'd just play it the way I wanted it. Even to this day, these are the same MIDI editing tools I've ever actually needed in Sonar, Studio One and Ableton. When it comes to MIDI, my MC-500 could still totally get the job done today. Upon reviewing the MIDI section in the MixBus manual, it seems to be exactly what I'd need. What scenarios am I missing which require the more "advanced" MIDI editing tools I hear about on all the other DAWs?

Thanks,

Donny
Windows 10 64, HP Z-220 Workstation, I7 3770 16 GB RAM, RME Multiface 2, PCIe
Mac OS Sierra, 2012 Mac Mini, i5 16 GB RAM, Behringer XR18
Mixbus 32C 6.2.26
Harrison MixBus V5.2
Presonus Studio One 5
Statesboro, GA, USA