Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Learning Assembly on Windows & Linux (& OSX too)
Any suggestions as to learning basic assembly for Linux or Windows - GAS first or MASM first? This is a project to help people with Auditory Verbal Agnosia (AVA*). One of the steps requires cheap, simple, fast computation, and assembly should be free, simple and fast. Right?

best, jabney

(*AVA is also called 'Word Deafness' which is not the same as 'deafness.')
I only did a few years of professionnal assembly programming, so I'm not an expert as others can be. Assembly in your case would be confined to calculations hence to basically know how a CPU can do that. And how to get arguments from the high-level language and how to return results. Which could possibly mean knowing about the C stack (if C is used) and representation of C structures in asm, as well as format of floating point numbers.

In those times I was not running Linux so I used MASM, with every asm function using a C stack calling procedure.

In Linux the assembler is NASM. The Gnu assembler (GAS) seems more like a utility of the binutils package. NASM would be the full-fledged assembler.

http://www.nasm.us/

Here's a free 540 pages book on assembly programming in Linux:

https://doc.lagout.org/programmation/asm...-15%5D.pdf

This said the gcc compiler is very much optimized. You could try proving first with actual numbers and tests that you really need assembly. As for Linux/Windows, it depends on your customers.
(02-20-2018, 05:47 PM)jonetsu Wrote: I only did a few years of professionnal assembly programming, so I'm not an expert as others can be. Assembly in your case would be confined to calculations hence to basically know how a CPU can do that. And how to get arguments from the high-level language and how to return results. Which could possibly mean knowing about the C stack (if C is used) and representation of C structures in asm, as well as format of floating point numbers.