Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Separate Project Locations for Mixbus & Mixbus32C
(01-02-2017, 02:21 PM)bapu Wrote: Naming files is a work around but to me it's a 1980s concept for a 21st Century DAW (I've been programming since 1978, btw).

All I'm asking for is an "option" to have Mixbux3 and Mixbus32C keep separate default locations for projects. I'd move (or copy) a project if I want it migrated between the two.

Proper file naming helps keeping things tidy. Everywhere. It's not a workaround for Mixbus.
Regarding Mixbus: It should be easy to start either program via script, which switches between two versions of the config file which provides the last ten sessions, depending on which Mixbus you have started. I'm only programming since 1986 but I feel totally confident to do such.

MMM
(12-29-2016, 04:59 PM)madmaxmiller Wrote:
(12-28-2016, 01:52 AM)Bart Wrote: Ben- I think this is a really good idea - I've had strange problems accidentally opening a 32C project with Mixbus and vice versa. I usually have to take notes so I know which project was created with which version.

I include the mixbus version in the filename... and touching the other thread regarding file explorer sorting: my solution for session names is
[YYYY][MM][DD]_<actual_session_name>__MBv2
[YYYY][MM][DD]_<actual_session_name>__MBv3
[YYYY][MM][DD]_<actual_session_name>__MB32Cv3

Everything which doesn't follow this convention is before MixBus32C and can be opened with v3. I still carry a v2, though, but didn't start it in ages Smile
If I open one of the "pre-convention" sessions I rename it to follow the scheme.

Cheers,
MMM

I see the default location as a scratch pad. When recordings are finished data is moved to a separated drive which is also backuped.

I make a setup of the channels before i start recording and save that in a template. I use the template for each recording f a tune

Basic directory is in home/sessions. In there i have map group/record/tune