Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
MixBus 3.7 ffado Alesis IO14 and or Echo AudioFire 2
Hi!
I would love to use my Alesis IO14 and IO26 with Mixbus on Linux.
I love these interfaces, they are built like tanks, sound great and have 2 headphone amps and ADAT in.
And I think they should be supported in Linux now.
But I cannot get it to work - and I am new to ffado.
PC desktop with Ubuntu 16.10. Texas firewire chip on Mobo.
Added myself as audio user. Installed ffado tools 2.3.
Apparently Echo AudioFire 2 should be fully supported and I have one of those
here so I though let's try that first.
It is not possible to start Mixbus 3.7 with Jack with either Echo or Alesis IO
and I now also see that it is not possibe to start with jack on a Ubuntu laptop with built in
audio. It therefore seems that Jack is not working anywhere for me..
So first, am I supposed to use Jack? Or should it be Alsa? Totally confused...
With Alsa I can get sound from PC with both Alesis and Echo
BUT then there are crackles and noise....
So since there are noise from a fully supported card, I must do something wrong...
Any clues where I should start?
Anyone has a similar setup?
kind regards
Petter
The Echo Audiofire should most certainly work. If fact I am pretty sure it will work even without FFADO. I believe the Audiofire drivers are now a part of ALSA (as are the DICE drivers). At least they are with my Audiofire 12. There are plenty of good jack troubleshooting resources available including the jack web page. I use Fedora, so I am totally not familiar with the Ubuntu/Debian way of doing things.