Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 3 Average
High DSP on new PC and Install
Hi everyone, I've rebuilt my PC with a fresh Win 10 Install, an i5 10-core CPU and 32Gb Ram and new mobo ... and figured it was worth investing in 32c 9.2. I've used Version 7 in the past, so I'm not a complete newbie.

With just one track created in a new MB session, no recordings, and absolutely no plugins whatsoever, I'm seeing 35-40% DSP use. CPU according to Task Manager is about 2%

Perhaps rather than address this particular problem - unless that's worthwhile - can anyone point me to good threads or MB resources in regards to making sure I've got basic settings and setups correct? Meaning, I should try and work my way through these things myself before starting to cry for help.

I'm using a Presonus 1810C interface and it's definitely selected as the audio device, 48 Khz rate and 256 buffers for a start.

Likely, I have a lot of basic Windows tweaking to do first, but it did seem an odd issue right off the bat. There are a lot of background processes happening that I need to cull, but that CPU use suggests that's not a problem.

Thanks for any help.
DSP is always higher than CPU since it calculates all the built in features, comp, eq... buses etc. So even if you do not use any mixbuses DSP thinks it is in use and reserves the dsp need for those. So CPU and DSP are independent. If CPU is low MB does not work at allSmile but if it has a lot cores it does not help DSP need.
I use CPU unpark that works on win7. This makes all the cores redy to use at once without windows thinking when to activate them. whether it is working in win10 I do mot know.
256 buffer pushes DSP high. It could be your main case. All right for recording. but for mixing 1024, 2048, 4096 and more are good.
Unfortunately MB was never able to handle 4096 without crackles/clicks on my win 7/64. Little Buffer needs a lot DSP, so go to at leas 2048 for mixing and you will be much better on DSP.