Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Do I need a new Mac or…
Just checking really (and I think I know the answer). 

Do I need a new MacBook or are there some settings that I haven’t configured properly?

I’ve got a late 2013 MacBook Pro, 16gb ram, intel i7. 

My current project has about 20 tracks, all audio.
Scrolling around the screen is slow and I can barely use the meters as they don’t show in real time during playback.
I mainly use T-Racks plugins for reverbs or specific compressors but I have a few SSL plugins that seem to really drain the system. One plug-in, the Sonox Claro (similar to Pro-q) crashes the session if I try and copy it to other tracks. 
Rendering a song takes around 5mins and the fan goes crazy. 

To be honest, I’ve been using Mixbus 32c for about six years and it’s always been like this - hence why I’m wondering if I’ve just got it set up wrong?
I would expect much better performance from that spec.

One obvious thing you could look at is in General Preferences - check that the machine is set to use all available cores.

Other than that, maybe it's just the usual junk which accumulates in older machines and which needs a good clear-out.
@Dazzathedrumer - are your sessions running off the Internal HD or are you using an external Drive ?
I see you have been using 32C for about six years, so was v4 or 5 showing the same sluggish performance ?
2013 MacBook Pro was released with Mavericks... are you still running that ?
Also check these links, it can often be the cause of slow graphics on laptop..

https://support.apple.com/en-au/guide/ma...lp2492/mac

https://support.apple.com/en-au/HT202043
Macmini 8,1 | OS X 13.6.3 | 3 GHz i5 32G | Scarlett 18i20 | Mixbus 10 | PT_2024.3.1 .....  Macmini 9,1 | OS X 14.4.1 | M1 2020 | Mixbus 10 | Resolve 18.6.5