Harrison Mixbus Forum

Full Version: Using Mixbus with external mixer
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi guys,
I'm used to working with an external mixer and I'm wondering how this will work with Mixbus. I have a 24 I/O soundcard. Each input channel in mixbus will go into a channel in my external mixer. So I might not use the Mixbus channels, but most likely the compression on each input channel. Will I still benefit from the Mixbus-sound with this setup?
Hope I'm making myself clear Wink
While I'm not an expert, I think your proposed setup kinda defeats the purpose of using Mixbus.

I can't speak for the actual specifics, but aside from the Harrison channel-strip comp and eq, there really isn't much added on the channels. The "mojo" seems to come from the buses and tape saturation. (see thread "under the hood")

I've done one (really painful) mix in MixBus, and while I really do like the channel-strip comp/EQ, I don't think that I would drop my old workflow for just those two items.
(07-22-2015, 05:22 AM)paal Wrote: [ -> ]Hi guys,
I'm used to working with an external mixer and I'm wondering how this will work with Mixbus. I have a 24 I/O soundcard. Each input channel in mixbus will go into a channel in my external mixer. So I might not use the Mixbus channels, but most likely the compression on each input channel. Will I still benefit from the Mixbus-sound with this setup?
Hope I'm making myself clear Wink
You can use the inserts of your external mixer to connect to MB.
Route the MB canalstipe outputs directly to the outputs of your soundcard and the soundcard inputs to the MB inputs. Don't forget to switch off the masterbuttons. Hit the input monitor buttons of each canal.
Than you can use on each canal of your external mixer the MB compressors and eq's. (if latency is not a problem for you).
I think this should work.