Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Trying to send all recorded tracks back to X32 from MB6
Hi All
I seem to be doing this backwards, I have a new session fully recorded in MB6 and would like to bring all the tracks (28) from the USB card into the X32 to then send a stereo wav to my mastering machine,

Although I have used mixbus extensively and being a mainly live engineer, I would like to try fingers on faders for my workflow.

I have tried importing the new MB6 session to Ardour but it wont import it.
I would like to be able to mix in the box and out of the box, is this possible?

Many thanks for your time.

Bob
I would guess you would need a 28 channel in & out soundcard to do this. From the soundcard you'd have to convert it to analog to go into the X32 or MADI or whatever multitrack digital protocol the X32 supports.
I've done this with a Digico SD10 with the Digico UB MADI 48 channel soundcard. It's commonly used live and known as virtual soundcheck. Engineers use it to set up a mix in a new venue using a recording from an earlier gig.

I'm not very familiar with X32 and was not impressed the several times I've seen them used. Are you able to set it up as a MIDI controller for Mixbus rather than route audio through it? That would seem to be a better option if possible.
Mixbus 32C, Debian Bookworm/KDE, EVE SC205 + ADAM Sub 8 monitors, Soundcraft Compact 4, M-Audio 2496, i5 6500, 16GB RAM, WD Blue SSD 1TB, 48" LG OLED, other stuff.
Work as house engineer at a popular venue in Melbourne AU. On a quest for the holy grail, the perfect amount of cowbell.

(03-16-2020, 12:33 PM)wavesound Wrote: Hi All
I seem to be doing this backwards, I have a new session fully recorded in MB6 and would like to bring all the tracks (28) from the USB card into the X32 to then send a stereo wav to my mastering machine,

Although I have used mixbus extensively and being a mainly live engineer, I would like to try fingers on faders for my workflow.

Bob