Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Best way to master using Mixbus
Has anyone heard of izotopes tonal balance control which helps us master music by allowing us to see a meter where are mixes should be based on thousands of records, now I’m still learning to mix my own music etc and I’m wondering of cheaper alternatives to be able to do this. I was thinking about a spectrum meter but I do not have full confidence in my ability to mix and master without some assistance nor do I have the best room or speakers in the world.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The cheapest and best way to master is do it about a thousand times and then do it again a thousand times.

Then you'll be ready to learn how to do it.
My Studio Specs

I track, edit and manage tracks in Studio One Pro V6/CbB. I try to always mix in Mixbus32C.

“It did what all ads are supposed to do: create an anxiety relievable by purchase.”
― David Foster Wallace, Infinite Jest
How to master/Mix properly

You need absoluutly two tools : Your ears.

1/ Stop looking at all the adds which promise something magical: thay take loads of your time.
2/ Stop looking at all the magic courses teaching you to mix, they make those courses to make money out of your insecurity

3/ Listen to real instruments, Vocal, anything, and record it.
Listen back : and make sure it sounds like the original : not almost, but exactly.
4/ Learn how your tools function. What do they do exactly. statically, dynamically.
What does it do with the sound of an instrument.
start with the EQ : test it on every instrument you imagine to use.
Record the effects : and listen back on a later stage.
Do not use any plugin, unless you exactly know what it does.
Write down in words: hat each plugin does exactly to your sound.
Update that.

Calibration:
Calibrate your speakers. Make sure a good recording sounds like it was intended. Use instruments which you can compare.